How Video-on-Demand would profit from imitating Zapping

Veröffentlicht: 19. April 2014 in Communication, Forecasting, Technology
Schlagwörter:, , , , , , ,

VoD services: Ease of use still not where it should beZapping through Vod

Video-on-demand services like Netflix or Watchever offer a great variety of content. But even though I am subscribing to a VoD service I watch linear TV much more often. The main reason for me and for many other people struggling with VoD is the ease of use: When I watch TV I don’t have to browse through hundreds of movie covers first. I can start right away. The editors of the TV channels give me a recommendation of a single show to watch right now. I can test it for a while and when I don’t like it I can switch to the next channel and test the next recommendation. That’s really convenient. And I think video-on-demand services would profit in different ways from imitating this type of content discovery. Here is how…

„Yes or no“ instead of „this or this or this or this….“

During the winter Olympics a popular dating app was often on the news which was said to have turned the olympic village into a dating game. Its name is Tinder and the principal behind it is pretty easy: You get a short info about singles near you and make a quick decision: „I would date him / her“ vs. „I would not date him / her“. If there is a match of positive results the app will deliver the contact details. I’m not using the app but in terms of usability I really like the principal behind it: Instead of being confronted with a too big variety of options – like on traditional dating sites or on most video-on-demand platforms – you just have to make a single decision at a time: „Yes“ or „next“. The principal of zapping. Just imagine how convenient it would be if your preferred video-on-demand platform would stick to that principal: Instead of showing you a bunch of movie covers to start your exploration it would show you the trailer of a single movie you might like. You have two buttons on your screen: „Watch“ and „next“. If you don’t like the recommendation you switch to the next trailer and might repeat that a couple of times until you find something that is worth pressing „watch“.

More data points = better recommendations

Putting zapping into video-on-demand would not only improve customer experience. It would also leverage the platform’s abilities to predict what movies you like. To get to know your taste the algorithms need data points and with every single click on „watch“ or „next“ they get valuable information – much more than when you just browse through movie covers and watch one movie in the end. The algorithms will be trained to avoid that you click „next“ and in the end this will lead to an individual program that is really relevant to you.

When will we see this?

Curently there is a big discussion about the future of linear TV and video-on-demand (see netzwertig.com, Gutjahr.biz) and one of the results is that streaming video will more and more develop towards the TV experience… I think it will not take long until we will be able to explore movie content in „zapping mode“. Maybe it already exists somewhere but I have not seen it to now except for in the case of music videos (Tape.TV). If the SVoD platform that I use would start it, I’m pretty sure I would use the service much more often.

Kommentare
  1. […] How Video-on-Demand would profit from imitating Zapping […]

Kommentar verfassen

